Extending AdSense for domains to all publishers

Many publishers have approached us looking for a way to monetize their domains, and today, we're excited to announce the expansion of AdSense for domains. This product allows publishers to earn revenue through ads placed on undeveloped domains.

With AdSense for domains, users can find relevant information rather than see empty pages or "page not found" errors. Today we present ads, links, and search results on the pages, and may add other useful information in the future. To ensure positive user experience and the quality of our network, these sites are monitored for policy compliance and prohibited from using text and images designed to confuse users.

Advertisers also have additional opportunities to find their customers, and ads on these pages convert well. In addition, we regularly receive requests from advertisers who have found domains to be an effective way to reach their users.

The product will be initially rolled out in phases to English-language AdSense publishers located in North America, and we'll expand to additional regions and languages in the future. To check whether AdSense for domains has been enabled for your account, log in and visit your AdSense Setup tab. For more information, please visit our Help Center.

Posted by Loren Donelson - Product Manager, AdSense for Domains

--Posted By Inside AdSense Team to Inside AdSense at 12/11/2008 09:08:00 A

Now serving overlay ads in embedded YouTube partner videos

Today, to help its video content partners earn more money, YouTube will begin running overlay ads in YouTube partner videos embedded on other websites. To date, YouTube has only run ads against partner videos on YouTube itself, and with people viewing millions of embedded YouTube videos every day, this meant that partners were not generating revenue from their views outside YouTube.com. But now, YouTube partners will be able to capitalize on their popularity across the internet and generate revenue from their content no matter where their video lives.

Although this may sound similar to AdSense video units, this YouTube change is separate from AdSense, and we'd like to discuss the differences between the two offerings.

Let's start with a refresher on AdSense video units, which are available within AdSense accounts in specific languages and regions. Video units help you enrich your website with fresh, dynamic content from our YouTube partners. Each video unit is accompanied by a banner ad and a overlay ad targeted towards the video and the site's content, and is customizable so you can choose categories of video to target to your site. The ad revenue is divided between the AdSense publisher, YouTube, and the YouTube partner providing the video content.

But AdSense video units aren't the only way our YouTube partners can distribute their content -- just as with other YouTube videos, it's possible for anyone with a website to embed partner videos on their sites. Now, following today's announcement, thousands of videos produced by YouTube partners will begin displaying overlay ads when embedded on other websites. (YouTube will gradually roll out these ads to additional YouTube partner videos in the coming weeks.) This feature is external to AdSense, and so no configuration within an AdSense account is needed. Revenue from these ads will be divided between YouTube and the YouTube partner providing the video content.

By helping YouTube partners generate additional revenue no matter where their videos are played, we hope to encourage further content creation among our most popular and prolific video creators. If you create your own video content and are interested in becoming a YouTube partner, submit an application today.



Posted by Arlene Lee
AdSense Publisher Support

Posted By Inside AdSense Team to Inside AdSense at 11/13/2008 10:00:00 A

Get in the game with AdSense for Games

Do you develop or publish web-based games? If so, you're contributing to a growing trend - according to comScore, over 25% of Internet users play online games every week, which is over 200 million users worldwide. As a beta user of AdSense for Games, you can display video ads, image ads, or text ads within your online games to earn revenue. You'll be able to show these ads in placements you define, such as interstitial frames before a game, after a level change, or when a game is over. Members of our AdWords team will sell your in-game ad placements directly to top brand advertisers, and you'll also see contextually targeted text and image ads based on content and demographic information. In addition, you'll be able to control the ads you see on your pages using our filtering options.
Here's a quick video to give you a better idea of what games are part of our network and how advertisers can use this medium to reach their target audience:

And here's another, less flashy video, to show actual game play and how an ad could appear within the game:

We've built ad technology for games played within a user's browser, and now we're looking to expand our publisher network. At this time, eligible publishers must have a minimum of 500,000 game plays and have 80% of their traffic from the U.S. or the U.K. If you're interested in becoming a AdSense for games beta publisher, feel free to review our complete list of requirements and submit an application. You can also find more information on our games site.
Posted by Ryan Hayward - Ads Product Marketing
--Posted By Inside AdSense Team to Inside AdSense at 10/07/2008 09:01:00 P

Now serving overlay ads in embedded YouTube partner videos

Today, to help its video content partners earn more money, YouTube will begin running overlay ads in YouTube partner videos embedded on other websites. To date, YouTube has only run ads against partner videos on YouTube itself, and with people viewing millions of embedded YouTube videos every day, this meant that partners were not generating revenue from their views outside YouTube.com. But now, YouTube partners will be able to capitalize on their popularity across the internet and generate revenue from their content no matter where their video lives.

Although this may sound similar to AdSense video units, this YouTube change is separate from AdSense, and we'd like to discuss the differences between the two offerings.

Let's start with a refresher on AdSense video units, which are available within AdSense accounts in specific languages and regions. Video units help you enrich your website with fresh, dynamic content from our YouTube partners. Each video unit is accompanied by a banner ad and a overlay ad targeted towards the video and the site's content, and is customizable so you can choose categories of video to target to your site. The ad revenue is divided between the AdSense publisher, YouTube, and the YouTube partner providing the video content.

But AdSense video units aren't the only way our YouTube partners can distribute their content -- just as with other YouTube videos, it's possible for anyone with a website to embed partner videos on their sites. Now, following today's announcement, thousands of videos produced by YouTube partners will begin displaying overlay ads when embedded on other websites. (YouTube will gradually roll out these ads to additional YouTube partner videos in the coming weeks.) This feature is external to AdSense, and so no configuration within an AdSense account is needed. Revenue from these ads will be divided between YouTube and the YouTube partner providing the video content.

By helping YouTube partners generate additional revenue no matter where their videos are played, we hope to encourage further content creation among our most popular and prolific video creators. If you create your own video content and are interested in becoming a YouTube partner, submit an application today.


Posted by Arlene Lee - AdSense Publisher Support

Posted By Inside AdSense Team to Inside AdSense at 11/13/2008 10:00:00 A

Block this way

When we notice a spike in readers who are interested in a specific topic, we like to address it as soon as we can. There's been some interest in filtering ads from publisher pages, so here's a quick refresher on the filtering tools we offer:

Competitive Ad Filter

You can restrict contextually-targeted and placement-targeted ads from appearing on your pages by adding the URL of each ad to your Competitive Ad Filter. After logging in to your account, click the AdSense Setup tab and visit the 'Competitive Ad Filter' page. You can also find full instructions and tips for entering in specific URLs in our Help Center. To determine the URL of an ad, try the AdSense Preview Tool or follow these steps. Please keep in mind that it may take several hours for the filter to take effect.

Ad Review Center

The Ad Review Center gives you additional control over the placement-targeted ads that may appear on your pages. Using the Ad Review Center, you can review specific ad groups and advertisers before they appear on your pages, and also block ads by type. You'll need to opt in to the Ad Review Center at the top of your Competitive Ad Filter page, and then you can begin reviewing ads.

Posted by Arlene Lee - AdSense Publisher Support

--
Posted By Inside AdSense Team to Inside AdSense at 11/03/2008 06:24:00 P

Introducing Google Ad Manager

As part of our continuing commitment to provide publishers of all sizes with tools to improve revenue opportunities and productivity, we're excited to announce Google Ad Manager.

If you operate a site with remnant ad inventory as well as reserved ad inventory that you sell directly to advertisers, then Ad Manager is for you. It can help you sell, schedule, deliver, and measure directly-sold and network-based inventory. Google Ad Manager offers a wealth of features, including an intuitive user interface, automated yield optimization, and proven Google speed and reliability. Best of all, Google Ad Manager is free.

Ad Manager currently addresses the ad management and serving needs of publishers with smaller sales teams and effectively complements the DoubleClick Revenue Center, which is focused on publishers with large sales teams. We're excited to add DART for Publishers to our suite of products,and we're committed to the continued development and enhancement of DoubleClick's offerings.

To learn more or apply for Google Ad Manager beta, visit our website.

Posted by Anuj Srivastava - AdSense Product Marketing

--
Posted By Inside AdSense Team to Inside AdSense at 3/13/2008 10:09:00 A

Show me the ads

After months of testing, we've just updated our text ad format to include 'next' and 'previous' arrow buttons for cost-per-click (CPC) ads. When a user clicks on the 'next' button, an entirely new group of ads will appear in the ad unit, giving your users greater control over the ads they see and click.

While the ads the user initially sees may be relevant to a publisher's content, they may not be precisely what the user is seeking -- for example, a user may see ads about cheddar and brie cheese but would prefer more information about Swiss cheese. With the 'next' and 'previous' buttons, users can view more cheese ads until a Swiss cheese ad appears.

You won't generate earnings for clicks on the 'next' and 'previous' buttons, but these buttons will help improve both advertiser value and your potential revenue. When users click on the buttons, they begin interacting with the ads and are more likely to find the specific offering they're looking for, which can lead to higher earnings for you.

Posted by Katie Mandel - AdSense Product Marketing

Another look at optimizations

We've given you many optimization tips over the years, and, as you know, it's important to consider how your ad implementations affect not only your click-through rate, but your users' and advertisers' experience as well. To support this, we'd like to remind you of the following two guidelines when optimizing your site.

1. Ads shouldn't be placed under a title or section heading in a way that implies that the ads are not ads.
For example, ads shouldn't be placed under titles such as "Dallas Business Opportunities" or "Today's Hot Deals". Placing ads directly below titles such as these implies to your users that the links in the ads are publisher-created content. The example below shows a placement that does not follow this guideline.



2. Ads should be easily distinguishable from surrounding content.
Similarly, you should not place an ad unit by a group of links that has identical colors and line spacing. Doing so may cause users to think the ad unit is content created by you. In this situation, we recommend using a different color for the ad titles or indenting the ad unit to help distinguish the ads from your own content. This screenshot shows an implementation that does not follow this guideline:



As you can imagine, users who click on ads that they think are publisher-created content may lose trust in your site and decide not to return in the future. It's important to keep their interests in mind, as well as your own.

Also, advertisers can tell which sites have a high conversion rate for them using Placement Performance reports. A conversion occurs when a click on an ad leads directly to user behavior that the advertiser deems valuable, such as a purchase, sign-up, page view, or lead. Advertisers have the option to exclude your site from their campaigns and may do so if it is not leading to conversions.

We believe these guidelines invest in the long-term health of the relationship between AdSense publishers, AdWords advertisers, and your sites' visitors, and that they will help ensure your continued success in the AdSense program.

Posted by Meridith Major - AdSense Publisher Support

Stick 'em up!


If you're well versed in webspeak, you're probably familiar with the concept of stickiness -- the quality that entices web users to stick around a given site. Here at AdSense, we're down with the web version of stickiness, but we've got a different kind of adhesive in mind: the kind that lets you take the AdSense logo a-go-go.

That's right, we're talking stickers.

We've printed up a batch of AdSense stickers, and we'd be delighted to send one or two your way, wherever you are in the world. The stickers are designed for laptops, but they'll work just as well for placement on mugs, skateboards, or temporarily on a shirt. (Note: turning a pal into a walking Google ad without their knowledge is not recommended.)


So how do you get one of these glue-backed masterpieces? Easy: send us a self-addressed, stamped envelope with enough postage to return 1 oz of sticker goodness to you from our office in California via standard U.S. mail. (Sorry, we can't help you calculate the postage to your location). Send your envelope, along with a note if you'd like, to:

Google AdSense
c/o Arlene Lee
1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
Mountain View, CA 94043
USA

Supplies are limited, so send your envelope soon! Then you can stick with AdSense wherever you go. (And one last thing to keep in mind: while we're flattered that you might want a whole box, note that we're only able to provide one or two per publisher.)

Posted by Julie Beckmann - AdSense Publisher Support

Fast AdSense Funds Withdraw for Malaysian Publishers using Western Union


A Malaysian AdSense publisher has been invited by google to try out new payment option for Malaysian publishers — withdrawing AdSense revenue via Western Union. It is a good news if the new service is available to all Malaysian publishers in the future.

How much time needed for a Malaysian publisher to receive and cash their AdSense cheques?
Currently, it takes about two weeks to receive an AdSense cheque via standard delivery from Google. And, around 30 days for bank to clear the AdSense cheque.

Western Union is much faster

If use Western Union, it takes only two days to receive your AdSense payment in Malaysian ringgit. Isn’t it great?


Western Union Agents in Malaysia

According to Western Union website, there are three agents in Malaysia:
1. POS Malaysia Berhad
2. umiputra Commerce Bank
3. RHB Bank Berhad

My two cents

Time saving is great, but my main concern is the processing fee for using Western Union. I would rather wait for one and a half month if the charge is expensive. Anyway, the Malaysian publisher said it is free during the trial period.


[Thanks, Din]
Adapted from : http://www.liewcf.com/

Which is best Malaysia bank to bank in U.S. check?

Generally, the exchange rate and check processing time are about the same among local banks. The exchange rate is between 3.77 to 3.78 (check current exchange rate). The time to process the check will take about one month.

According to the thread I started in WebmasterMalaysia.com and readers’ feedback, here is the comparison of US check processing fee(per check) between different Malaysia local banks. Not sorted in any order.


Hong Leong Bank: RM50 + RM10 (courier) + USD75 (Citibank Delaware)
MayBank::
0.1% of the cheque amount drawn in RM with minimum of RM25.00 and maximum of RM100.00
PublicBank:
0.1% of cheque amount (min: RM20, max: RM100)
Postage: RM5
Stamp duty: RM0.15
HSBC:
0.1% of cheque amount (min: RM10, max: RM100)
Stamp duty - RM0.15 per cheque
Other charges - below 10k = RM1.15
EON Bank: RM10
BCB (CIMB):
0.1% charge (min: RM5, max: RM100)
Postage: RM5
Stamp duty: RM0.15
The 0.1% is only applicable if it is above USD 1000.
Note: You can deposit your check to the home branch only. But, you can mail your check to your BCB account’s home branch for bank-in.

RHB:
Postage: RM5.00
Stamp Duty: RM0.15
Commission: 0.1% of your cheque amount (minimum RM 10.00 and maximum RM 100.00)
Standard Chartered: 0.01% of cheque amount OR min RM 50.
Bank Muamalat: RM5
Alliance: ~RM70
Southern Bank: RM30 + RM0.15 stamp duty.
Note: Result is compiled from the forum thread and comments in this page, no personal verification done. If you have updated information of any bank’s check processing fee, please let us know in the comment.


Adapted from : http://www.liewcf.com/

Terms and Conditions clarification

Since updating our Terms and Conditions a few weeks ago, we've received a number of questions related to the new privacy policy and the display language within accounts. We'd like to address those two areas below -- but please keep in mind that as with any legal terms, you may consider consulting legal counsel if you have law-related questions about our Terms and Conditions.

Privacy policy

Unfortunately, we can't suggest any privacy policy language for your specific site, as all sites are set up differently and laws may vary across different countries. You might want to review online resources such as the Network Advertising Initiative (NAI), which suggests language for data collection of non-personally identifying information such as:

We use third-party advertising companies to serve ads when you visit our Web site. These companies may use information (not including your name, address email address or telephone number) about your visits to this and other Web sites in order to provide advertisements about goods and services of interest to you. If you would like more information about this practice and to know your choices about not having this information used by these companies, click here.

Further examples can be found in Appendix A of the NAI Self-Regulatory principles for publishers (PDF).

Display language

At this time, the Terms and Conditions are only available in one language per country -- whatever is determined as the legally binding language. As such, you might see that the Terms and Conditions are displayed in a language different from your Google interface.

You can read our updated Terms and Conditions in a different language, but please keep in mind that the Terms will vary according to the country or territory of your payment address. If you select a different country, the Terms and Conditions you see may not be identical to those appearing in your AdSense account, and therefore may not apply to you.

Posted by Arlene Lee - AdSense Publisher Support

Working with the Ad Review Center

As you may remember, we started enabling the Ad Review Center for publishers back in December to let you review ads placement-targeted to your site. We've recently enabled the Ad Review Center for more accounts and will continue rolling it out over the upcoming weeks. To get a publisher's perspective on the new feature, we chatted with Richard Tribe, Director of ski.com.au.

Australian snow enthusiasts can visit ski.com.au to learn about resorts and travel deals, as well as news and photos of conditions. The site also serves as a skier community, with videos, forums, wikis, and several blogs. Richard has been using the Ad Review Center to ensure relevant, high-quality ads appear alongside his content. He explains that "the Ad Review Center allowed me to see who was targeting my site, and I saw a wonderful array of high-quality advertisers in there... The Ad Review Center is a great way of managing the quality and style of advertiser you would like to have associated with your publication."



To highlight specific inventory, Richard has turned his custom channels into ad placements. For instance, he found that his live camera feeds of snow conditions drove significant advertiser interest, so he created specific snow camera ad placements. He elaborates, "That extra choice helps make my site look more attractive and allows advertisers to place their ads exactly where they want to place them." With targetable custom channels, Richard has given advertisers more control over where their placement-targeted ads can appear, and using the Ad Review Center, he ensures those ads are relevant to his site's audience.

To check if the Ad Review Center has been enabled for your account, visit the 'Competitive Ad Filter' page under the AdSense Setup tab and look for a green notification box.

When setting up the Ad Review Center in your account, we strongly recommend you keep your review preference set to the default of 'Run ads immediately', and review placement-targeted ads after they have run. Ads don't participate in the auction while they are awaiting review, and ads that you have blocked can't compete in the auction either. We ask that you consider the revenue implications before blocking ads or switching from the 'Run immediately' setting.

Happy skiing (and reviewing)!

Posted by Katie Mandel - AdSense Product Marketing

Introducing Google Ad Manager

As part of our continuing commitment to provide publishers of all sizes with tools to improve revenue opportunities and productivity, we're excited to announce Google Ad Manager.

If you operate a site with remnant ad inventory as well as reserved ad inventory that you sell directly to advertisers, then Ad Manager is for you. It can help you sell, schedule, deliver, and measure directly-sold and network-based inventory. Google Ad Manager offers a wealth of features, including an intuitive user interface, automated yield optimization, and proven Google speed and reliability. Best of all, Google Ad Manager is free.

Ad Manager currently addresses the ad management and serving needs of publishers with smaller sales teams and effectively complements the DoubleClick Revenue Center, which is focused on publishers with large sales teams. We're excited to add DART for Publishers to our suite of products,and we're committed to the continued development and enhancement of DoubleClick's offerings.

To learn more or apply for Google Ad Manager beta, visit our website.

Posted by Anuj Srivastava - AdSense Product Marketing

Payment holds, held up

We've heard from a few of you that even though you've already reached $10 in earnings, you're not seeing the prompt to remove payment holds on your account. So we turned to our payments specialist Dan Marcus:

"Every day, our system runs a check to determine which accounts have reached $10 for the first time within the last 24 hours. Since there are a large number of accounts around the world that exceed the $10 threshold each day, our system sometimes doesn't immediately pick up all qualifying accounts. These accounts should be identified after 48 hours, but in rare cases, it can take a bit longer."

If it's been more than a week since you reached $10 and you still don't see a prompt on your Payment History page to select a form of payment, enter your tax information, or view the date your PIN was sent, let us know and we can investigate further. For more information about removing the holds on your account, feel free to visit our Help Center.

Posted by Arlene Lee - AdSense Publisher Support

Google closes DoubleClick acquisition

You may have seen today's announcement that Google has completed its acquisition of DoubleClick.

The combined company will offer more tools for publishers, enhance productivity and provide additional revenue opportunities so you can focus on creating more relevant content and improve the user experience on your websites. We will also work with our existing publishers to better monetize their inventory by combining DoubleClick's and Google's strength in inventory management, ad serving, and optimization.

If you have a DoubleClick account, rest assured that everything will continue to operate as usual, and that you'll receive the same support you're used to. For more information, please read our press release.

Posted by Kim Malone -- Director Online Sales & Operations, AdSense

Diagnosing and treating revenue fluctuations (Part II)

Welcome back to the second part of our series designed to help you
better understand revenue fluctuations. If you're just joining us now,
or if you'd just like to brush up on those reporting terms before we
dive in again, feel free to visit our previous post from earlier in
the week.

Choose the right treatment

You're finished investigating the cause of the revenue fluctuations,
and it's time to take action. Find the symptom you identified below
for suggested treatments.

Page impression changes

* Check for AdSense technical issues or public service ads (PSAs). If
ads aren't being served on your site, we aren't registering page
impressions.

* Don't miss out on search traffic. Use Webmaster Tools to make sure
that Google is properly crawling and indexing your site.

* Consider the promotions you have running for your site. Did an ad
campaign end, causing a drop in traffic? Has a popular site linked to
you, causing a spike in page impressions?

CTR changes

* A drop in CTR can be caused by a user interface (UI) that's not
optimized or by poor targeting. Readers won't click on ads they don't
see or find irrelevant. To improve the relevance of your ads, you
might want to try section targeting.

* Check for crawl problems. If our system can't crawl your page, we
can't serve relevant ads.

* If you've implemented or changed your ad server, check that there
are no new targeting problems.

* Have you changed the look and feel of your site? Follow our
optimization best practices whenever launching a site redesign. An
easy way to start is to match the ad colors to the design of your site
and choose a top performing unit such as the 300x250 medium rectangle.

* If your CTR has been in a slow decline, your readers may be
experiencing ad blindness. Try testing new ad formats, placements, or
colors.

CPC changes

* CPCs are determined by advertiser bids and are not directly under
publisher control. Most large CPC changes are seasonal. For example,
certain ad verticals attract more spending during the holiday or back-
to-school seasons.

* CPCs can also fluctuate as advertisers begin and end their
advertising campaigns.

* You can always improve your CPCs by choosing ad formats that support
all ad types: text, image, video, flash, and gadget ads. More
competition means higher advertiser bids.

Placement targeting revenue changes

* If overall targeted revenue is changing, determine what your average
placement-targeted revenue has been for the past few months. Your goal
is to determine if the changes in your recent earnings are part of a
trend or a short-term earnings fluctuation.

* Publishers can experience spikes in placement-targeted revenue when
advertisers run limited-time campaigns. For example, an advertiser may
run a large placement-targeted campaign only during the opening week
of a summer blockbuster movie.

* If you want to increase placement targeting over the long term, set
up ad placements. This will make it easier for advertisers to find and
target your site.

Finally, two more things...

Where are the changes happening?

Many AdSense publishers run multiple websites or have site sections
that perform very differently. For example, the article section of a
cell phone review site may have a higher eCPM than the forums.
Whenever you notice revenue changes at the account level, always
determine which of your sites or sections is causing the change. You
can set up URL and custom channels to track all the important parts of
your account separately. Knowing exactly what is changing and where
will allow you to make the smartest decisions about what to do.

Taking seasonal fluctuation into account

Take a broader view and look for historical fluctuations in the
metrics described above. Over the same time period last month or last
year, you may find similar volatility in your eCPM, revenue, or page
impressions. For example, you can compare the Mother's Day performance
of a flowers and gifts site for 2006 and 2007. Is your current account
performance consistent with the previous time range? If so, the
revenue change you're investigating might reflect a recurring pattern.

I hope this series will help you get the most out of AdSense, and the
next time your revenue changes, I hope it's for the positive.

Posted by Christian Ashlock - AdSense Optimization Team
Friday, March 07, 2008 at 9:08:00 AM

Diagnosing and Treating Revenue Fluctuations (Part I)

You love your website and you want it to thrive. You create content, manage your community, and keep an eye on your AdSense performance. If AdSense revenue is down, you're understandably concerned. If AdSense revenue is up, you're happy, but you want to know why. Revenue fluctuations are obvious enough when they occur, but the root cause isn't equally clear. It can be challenging for both new and experienced publishers alike to analyze their AdSense data and respond effectively to changes.

The goal of this post, and our follow-up later this week, is to help you understand the AdSense revenue model so you can diagnose and treat revenue fluctuations like an experienced MD.

Study up

The first step is knowing how the figures reported in your account (such as eCPM, CTR, and page impressions) interact to describe your total revenue. Think of each number as a variable in the revenue formula for your site. At the highest level, you can calculate revenue by multiplying your page impressions by the effective cost-per-thousand impressions (eCPM) and dividing by 1000.

Revenue = Page Impressions * eCPM / 1000

eCPM = Revenue / Page Impressions * 1000

The eCPM metric provides an estimate of how much revenue you can expect to earn for every 1000 page impressions. For example, if you serve 10,000 page impressions and earn $40, your eCPM is $4. If page impressions increase to 30,000, you can predict that you'll earn $120 given the $4 eCPM.

Most AdSense ads pay on a cost-per-click (CPC) basis, so eCPM is really a measure of your average ad performance. Breaking eCPM into the click-through-rate (CTR) and the average cost that advertisers pay per click (CPC) gives you a more accurate measure of performance.

Revenue = Page Impressions * CTR * average CPC

Once you know your average CTR and your average CPC, you can predict how much revenue you'll earn for a given amount of page views. You can also analyze your revenue by looking at placement-targeted ads versus contextually-targeted ads.

Total Revenue = Revenue (contextual) + Revenue (placement-targeted)

While contextually targeted ads always pay per click, advertisers can pay for placement-targeted ads by impression (CPM) or by click (CPC). To account for both of these bid types, you should look at the average eCPM for placement-targeted ads. More simply, you can just add placement-targeted revenue to your contextually targeted revenue.

Revenue = (Page Impressions (contextual) * CTR * average CPC) + (Page Impressions (placement-targeted) * eCPM (placement targeted) / 1000)

Revenue = (Page Impressions (contextual) * CTR * average CPC ) + Revenue (placement-targeted)

Even though we're looking at contextual and placement-targeted revenue separately, don't forget that these two types of ads compete against each other in the auction. We'll always show the best performing ad, regardless of targeting type, so more competition creates higher winning bids.

Identify the symptoms

Now you're ready to diagnose any revenue fluctuation. Just like the revenue formulas above, let's start simple and gradually get more complex.

The first question to ask is: Did either your page impressions or your eCPM change? You can compare trends in both page impressions and eCPM using the Advanced Reports in your account.



If your AdSense page impressions have declined, you should determine if traffic to your entire site is declining as well. A web analytics tool such as Google Analytics can provide you with this information. In addition, you should check your pages for unpaid public service ads (PSAs).

If your eCPM is down, you'll need to dig one level deeper and find out if your contextual or placement targeted ad performance has dropped. You can also find this data in the Advanced Reports tab using the options shown below.



Let's consider your contextual ads first. The two key metrics to investigate are CTR and average CPC. CTR is given in your reports, but you'll need to calculate your average CPC using your favorite spreadsheet. (My favorite goes without saying). Please keep in mind that this is still an average CPC for your account and doesn't necessarily correspond with the price paid by any specific advertiser. Once you've narrowed the change to CTR or average CPC you're ready to start treatment.

For placement-targeted ads, you should analyze how much total placement-targeted revenue you are receiving and the average eCPM. Changes in either of these metrics usually indicate that advertisers are beginning or ending campaigns targeted to your site. Again, placement-targeted campaigns are more likely to be short-term than contextual campaigns.

That's all we have time for today -- now that you have a better understanding of what factors can affect revenue, don't forget to check back later this week for the second part of this series. We'll be treating ways to treat revenue fluctuations based on the symptoms you've discovered.

Posted by Christian Ashlock - AdSense Optimization Team

Building with AdSense

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eoZ9eFuIMzQ

When Les Kenny and his family launched their do-it-yourself (D.I.Y.)
website www.buildeazy.com in 2001 solely as a hobby site, they had no
idea of the impact Google AdSense would have on their lives.

Les had spent most of his life building in both Sydney and Auckland,
but his hobby was designing projects and writing about them. This
inevitably led to the Buildeazy website, where he posts D.I.Y.
woodworking and building projects. He caters to a universal audience
by using general terminology and incorporating both metric (mm) and
imperial (ft and inch) measurements into all his projects. Les and
daughter Roseanne also wrote two successful kids D.I.Y. books
published in Australasia. They had intended to write more books, but
AdSense proved to be more lucrative.

In early 2004, Les incorporated AdSense into his website. Around March
2005, to his amazement, optimisation of the AdSense ad units
throughout the site doubled the earnings overnight. The income from
AdSense allowed both Les and his wife Jenny to give up their day jobs
and work solely on their passions and hobbies. It has also allowed all
of the family to get involved.

Les has spent a lot of time experimenting with his ad layout and
colour, making use of the Manage Ads feature and custom channels. He
found that the 300x250 medium rectangle was overwhelmingly the best
performing. Using custom channels, he was also able to remove some
units which weren't performing as strongly to reduce clutter on his
site.

"Most of my pages now consist of only two ad units -a 300x250 medium
rectangle at the top of the page and a 336x280 large rectangle at the
bottom of the page. I have found that a couple of well placed ads on a
page do better than a cluster of ads all over the page - and I guess
it is also more pleasing for the visitors."

Once the AdSense units are placed and optimised, everything takes care
of itself -- leaving Les and family to get on with what they enjoy
most.

Posted by Tim Egan - AdSense Australia Optimisation Team
Monday, March 03, 2008 at 10:58:00 AM

Cara BerAdsense

Salam hormat,

Saya telah membaca sebuah ebook berkaitan Google Adsense yang
disediakan oleh seorang daripada kenalan online saya (Azrul) dan
saya dapati ebook beliau agak bagus dengan penerangan langkah -
demi langkah.

Jika anda belum mengetahui apa itu adsense, saya akan
terangkan serba ringkas mengenainya.

Google Adsense adalah satu program pengiklanan yang ditawarkan
oleh syarikat gergasi Internet iaitu Google.

Kita sebagai pengguna boleh mendapat manfaat daripada Google
Adsense ini dengan membantu pihak Google melakukan promosi iklan
daripada pengiklan - pengiklan Google.

Yang menariknya, anda boleh bermula menjalankan kerjasama dengan
Google ini secara PERCUMA dan meraih pendapatan menerusinya.

Namun, untuk belajar tentang Google Adsense ini adalah amat
rumit bagi orang baru.

Jadi, dengan adanya panduan yang telah disediakan lebih - lebih
lagi dalam Bahasa Malaysia, maka ia dapat membantu anda menjalankan
program Google Adsense ini dengan mudah.

Saya syorkan anda mendapatkan produk Azrul ini kerana beliau
membuat tawaran Hebat iaitu diskaun 50% selama 3 hari bermula
dari hari ini.

Layari ke link http://getresponse.com/t/9698580/611859/187680774/
untuk melihat tawaran beliau...

ikhlas,
Mohd Amirol

Adsense Bukanlah Skim Cepat Kaya

Assalamualaikum dan salam sejahtera,


Rosbira, Tahukah anda bahawa Adsense bukanlah salah satu skim cepat
kaya? Jika anda dah tahu anda adalah orang yang bernasib baik kerana
dewasa ini ramai penggun Internet yang ingin keuntungan dalam
program Google AdSense dalam masa yang TERLAMPAU singkat.

Bayangkan ada yang ingin berjaya dapatkan cek dalam masa 1 minggu
sedangkan mereka baru bermula. Kenapa ini terjadi? Ini kerana mereka
menganggap Program Google AdSense adalah sama seperti program
pelaburan online yang disertai mereka sebelum ini.

Jadi ingatlah tiada kejayaan yang singkat dalam menjana wang melalui
program Google AdSense dan masa yang paling minima diperlukan untuk
berjaya bagi newbie ialah dalam 2-3 bulan.

Kesimpulanya, janganlah lagi tertipu dan akhirnya anda akan
menyalahkan program Google AdSense. Sekian sahaja tip kali ini.

sekian.

Labanon,
http://flarebiz.com

Login message clarification

Are you seeing the following error message when trying to log in?

"Welcome! You're signed in to Google Accounts under the email [your email address] and your Google Account password, but this is not a valid AdSense login."

We’ve heard that there’s been confusion among publishers about this login error message -- especially if you're absolutely positive that you’ve used the correct email address when logging in. (And 99.9% of the time, this is the case.) To help you access your account, we’d like to provide you with some clarification and tips for troubleshooting.

If you’re seeing this error message, this means your AdSense account shares the same login and password as a Google Account, but the two accounts are not linked. As a result, when you try logging in at www.google.com/adsense, our system will only grant you access to your Google Account -- not your AdSense account. To resolve this issue, you’ll need to maintain two separate passwords.

The easiest way to proceed is to first ensure that you're logged out of Google Accounts for any other products you use, such as Gmail or AdWords. Then, change your AdSense password at https://www.google.com/adsense/assistlogin. You’ll be asked to submit your login email address to us, and we’ll then send a reset link to that address. When changing your AdSense password, please be sure to select a unique password that you’re not using with any other Google product. After you've changed your AdSense password, please try logging in again at www.google.com/adsense.

We understand that this is inconvenient, and we apologize for the confusing situation. We’re working on migrating all AdSense accounts over to Google Accounts, and in the meantime, we appreciate your patience.

Posted by Arlene Lee – AdSense Publisher Support

Bagaimana Ingin Memulakan Perniagaan Internet Part 2

Assalamulaikum dan salam sejahtera,

Ok hari ini saya ingin sambung menjawab soalan para pembaca... Ini
merupakan part 2 so, anda sepatutnya membaca part 1 dahulu sebelum
membaca newsletter hari ini.

Baiklah soalan seterusnya yang anda perlu tanya ialah apakah target
market anda?

Yer betul... saya tahu target market anda ialah pengguna Internet.
Tetapi jawab soalan saya ini dulu.. Anda ingat berapa orang yer pengguna
Internet? Mustahil anda dapat fokus kepada semua pengguna Internet
untuk pemasaran! Saya ulangi M-U-S-T-A-H-I-L! Jadi anda perlulah kecilkan
sedikit skop target market anda supaya anda tidak akan melakukan promosi
yang sia-sia. Dengan mengetahui skop promosi anda.. promosi anda akan
lebih berkesan. Jika anda ingin menjual video menukar tiub anda perlulah
melakukan promosi di forum-forum basikal,kereta dan sebagainya dan bukanya
promosi di forum-forum mencari jodoh dan sebagainya. Memanglah boleh
anda lakukan promosi cuma mungkin akan kurang berkesan. (Oh! Adakah
anda betul-betul ingin membuat video cara menukar tiub? Tidak itu idea saya!)

Baiklah adakah anda kenal Edmund Loh? Beliau merupakan salah seorang
IM yang sudah terkenal dan beliau hanya menumpukan produk tentang
Resell Rights(RR), Master Resell Rights(MRR) dan Private Label Rights(PLR).
Lihat beliau mempunyai niche yang tersendiri :)

Akhir sekali bagaimana anda ingin bermula?

Pada pendapat saya anda perlu cari niche anda tersendiri dan FOKUS
dalam niche anda. Jika anda ingin bergiat dalam adsense... tumpukan
sepenuh perhatian anda dalam adsense dan jika sudah berpuas hati
barulah beralih kebidang-bidang yang lain. Kuasa fokus ini bukan hanya
perlu dalam perniagaan Internet malah dalam perniagaan online sekalipun
kita memerlukan FOKUS supaya betul-betul berjaya.

Sudah ramai yang saya dengar rintihan para newbie.. cuba buat adsense...
tapi sampai sekerat jalan mahu tukar bidang pulak. Tak tengok lagi
berjaya atau tidak. Tapi jika anda dah cuba sedaya upaya(bukan sekerat
jalan yer) dalam sesuatu niche namun tidak berjaya.. sila tukar niche
anda dengan segera kerana niche tersebut mungkin tidak sesuai untuk anda.

Mat Biz kata "Seorang yang pahlawan yang hebat tahu bila masanya untuk
meletakkan pedang" (maksudnya seseorang yang ingin berjaya perlu tahu
bilakah masa yang sesuai untuk berundur)

Baiklah saya sediakan step ringkas apa yang perlu anda lakukan untuk
bermula dalam ebiz:

1) Beli domain + hosting

2) Buat web/blog anda

3) Promosi

4) Dapat duit anda sekarang! ;)

Tidak salah untuk anda target mendapat pendapatan melalui Internet
sebanyak RM1 juta. Tidak salah namun sebelum anda buat target begitu
baiklah saya cadangkan anda buat dulu matlamat untuk short term biar
dapat RM1 dulu daripada internet. Selepas dapat RM1 buat target baru
iaitu RM10 dan seterusnya begitulah sampai anda dapat mencapai RM1 juta.
Pendapatan kami sekarang ialah 4 angka dan hampir mencecah 5 angka. So,
target kami seterusnya ialah 5 angka setengah hahaha!

Sekian.

Labanon,
http://flarebiz.com
http://MajalahIM.com

Bagaimana Ingin Memulakan Perniagaan Internet Part 1

Assalamualaikum dan salam sejahtera,

Baiklah hari ini saya ingin menjawab salah satu soalan daripada rakan kita.
Soalanya berbunyi lebih kurang begini "Bagaimana nak mula ebiz?".
Baiklah saya cuba untuk berkongsi di sini agar pembaca lain juga boleh
mendapat beberapa tip di sini secara tidak langsung akan menjadikan
newsletter ini lebih berinformasi.

Baiklah langkah pertama ialah anda perlu tahu kenapa anda hendak cuba
cari duit secara online ni?

Anda perlu tanya diri anda dahulu kenapa...kenapa dan kenapa nak cuba
perniagaan Internet. Jika jawapan anda hanya sekadar ingin mencuba..
saya nasihatkan agar lupakan sahaja kerana sudah ramai yang gagal
kerana ingin sekadar mencuba tanpa usaha yang bersungguh-sungguh.
Pastikan anda mempunyai alasan yang kukuh untuk bermula perniagaan
Internet ini agar apabila anda ditimpa musibah ia tidak akan menjejaskan
semangat anda yang sedang membara tersebut.

Bilakah anda ingin mulakan perniagaan Internet?

Ini juga merupakan soalan penting bila anda ingin mulakan perniagaan
Internet. Jika anda jawab sekarang maka anda check dulu diri anda
adakah ilmu sudah cukup? Adakah sudah baca semua ebook berkenaan
perniagaan Internet? Adakah sudah menghadiri seminar?(saya sendiri
belum pernah menghadiri mana-mana seminar haha) dan pelbagai jenis
soalan lagi anda perlu tanya diri anda. Jika nampak sudah ok maka
mulalah sekarang! Jangan pula jadi macam sesetengah orang yang sudah
membaca berpuluh-puluh ebook tetapi masih lagi tidak mengambil langkah
pertama. "Just Do It"

Bak kata Mat Biz:

"Jarak perjalanan tidaklah penting tetapi apa yang lebih penting ialah langkah pertama"

Nak berniaga apa di Internet?

Soalan ini merupakan perkara yang amat penting dimana akan mencorakkan
kewangan peribadi anda nanti ;) Ramai orang yang pening nak berniaga
apa di Internet ni... Nak berniaga apa yer? Kaftan Team FlareBiz dah buat...
Nak jual tudung orang dah buat... apa yer orang masih tak buat? Jika
itulah yang anda fikir maka sampai bila-bila pun anda tidak mampu untuk
memulakan perniagaan Internet. Kenapa takut sangat dengan persaingan
sihat ni? Kenapa? Jika takut persaingan kenapa anda ingin berniaga?
Perniagaan Internet tetaplah suatu perniagaan walaupun anda tidak perlu
betentang muka dengan pelanggan. Lihat bagaimana saya tetap mengeluarkan
ebook tentang adsense walaupun ramai yang kata ebook adsense dah berlambak
kat Internet.

Mat Biz kata "Ramai orang yang mempunyai banyak idea yang hebat tanpa tetapi tidak bertindak dan ramai yang bertindak tanpa idea yang bagus. Tanpa idea yang bagus dan tindakan yang sepatutnya anda tidak akan berjaya" (Pergh! Mat Biz nak jadi orang falsafah ni)

Idea... Idea dan Idea.. Itulah yang anda perlu sentiasa fikir dan cari
apakah produk yang sesuai untuk dijual di Internet. Baiklah saya bagi
anda idea secara ringkas bagaimana anda ingin mencari wang secara online.

1) Jika anda mempunyai perniagaan secara offline, bawakan produk tersebut
secara online. Tak rugipun hanya keluarkan modal untuk hosting + domain.
Contohnya anda berniaga minyak urut secara offline.. apa kata anda jual
minyak urut tersebut secara online.

2) Jika anda tahu bagaimana hendak menukarkan tiub basikal,motor dan
sebagainya (Jangan tiub kereta api sudah!) anda mungkin boleh buat blog
untuk menerangkan step by step bagaimana untuk menukar tiub tersebut
dan letakanlah kod adsense di blog anda. Secara tidak langsung anda
boleh mendapatkan duit daripada program Google AdSense. Cara lain ialah
anda mungkin boleh buat video menukar tiub tersebut dan jual video tersebut
melalui Internet! Jaga pemasaran Insyallah laku macam goreng pisang panas!

Bersambung...

Jika terdapat soalan anda boleh ajukan di emel ini: support@flarebiz.com

Sekian,

Labanon,
http://flarebiz.com
http://MajalahIM.com

Updated Terms and Conditions

Every now and then, we update the AdSense Terms and Conditions to make sure they're in line with policies across Google, and to prepare for future changes to the products and services we offer. As part of these regular updates, you'll soon sign in to your account and see that the Terms have been updated, prompting you to read through and accept them.

This time around, most of the changes to the Terms and Conditions fall into two broad categories: 1) future products and features and 2) privacy requirements. Specifically, one of the main changes is that the terms anticipate future products that may become available in other advertising formats and mediums, for example Gadget Ads. As we look forward to monetizing more online and offline content, we've re-worded some portions of the terms to make them applicable across a broader array of media and formats -- anticipating, for example, that future products may be priced, paid, or managed differently than current ones.

We've also added some specific requirements that make it necessary for publishers to post and abide by a transparent privacy policy that users see. According to this policy, publishers must notify their users of the use of cookies and/or web beacons to collect data in the ad serving process. This change relates to advertisers' use of innovative products and features like Gadget Ads and other offerings in the future.

The changes aren't limited to the areas above, however; we've made small changes throughout, so it's a good idea for you to review them thoroughly before accepting.

Posted by Julie Beckmann - AdSense Publisher Support

Kaitan Antara PLR dan AdSense

Adakah anda tahu apa itu Private Label Rights (PLR)? Jika
anda masih belum mengetahunya baca di wikipedia:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_label_rights

PLR artikel anda boleh edit, copy dan buat apa sahaja seolah-olah
artikel itu anda yang buat. Jadi apa kaitanya dengan adsense? Apa
yang ingin saya tekankan di sini anda carilah artikel PLR dan gunakan
sebagai content blog anda supaya content blog anda akan menjadi lebih
berkualiti. Ya, cari PLR artikel dan gunakan sebagai content blog anda,
mudah bukan? Sudah tentu pendapatan adsense anda akan meningkat!

Adakah anda faham? Baiklah jika faham saya ingin berikan anda 10 ebook
dengan lesen PLR! Ya, ebook ini anda boleh edit dan buat seolah-olah
ia adalah ebook anda. Anda juga boleh mengambil artikel dalam ebook
ini untuk diletakkan dalam blog anda dan menjadikan content blog anda
yang unik.

Untuk mendapatkan 10 Ebook dengan lesen PLR secara PERCUMA sila
klik di sini:http://tinyurl.com/2sw7o6

Itu sahaja tip kali ini :)

Sekian,
Labanon,
Team FlareBiz.
http://tipadsense.com
http://flarebiz.com

Fueling creativity in online video - with AdSense for video beta

We know that publishers are quickly adding video to their sites and looking for ways to earn additional revenue. If this sounds like you, look no further than AdSense for video, our solution for qualifying publishers. You may remember that we announced AdSense for video as a pilot last May.

Since then, we've tested a variety of ad formats with the interest of users, publishers and advertisers in mind. As a result, we've decided that AdSense for video will use the InVideo ads adopted on our own property, YouTube, which enable advertisers to make a single buy at scale. Also competing in the auction - and unique to AdSense for video and AdSense video units - are text overlay ads which are contextually targeted to signals in your videos and on the page where the video lives. The InVideo ads are paid on a CPM basis, while the text overlay ads are paid on a CPC basis. You can see ad demos at
http://www.google.com/ads/videoadsolutions/demos.html . While we'll continue to test a variety of ad formats, we believe that overlays are the best way to balance user experience with the needs of our publishers.

AdSense for video is now available to publishers who, at a minimum, serve one million video streams each month and are based in the U.S. with English language sites. In the near future, we do plan to expand the program to more publishers of various sizes and locations.

You may be wondering how this offering differs from the other video advertising solutions that AdSense (and YouTube) have rolled out in the last year. To give you an overview, we've launched a site at www.google.com/videoadsolutions .

To apply for AdSense for video beta, please visit the AdSense for video page on the Google Video Advertising Solutions site at http://www.google.com/ads/videoadsolutions/publisher.html . You can also learn about the various ways to earn revenue from video content by watching this video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p2hPslGRBfQ

Posted by Ryan Hayward and Lilly Wolfson - AdSense Product Marketing/
Publisher Support
Thursday, February 21, 2008 at 5:28:00 AM

Kisah Budak Belasan Tahun Berjaya dalam AdSense (Bahagian 2)

Assalamualaikum dan salam sejahtera,

Baiklah ini merupakan sambungan kisah penggiat adsense yang berjaya.
Namun kisah kali ini akan lebih menarik kerana budak ini berjaya
membuat $70,000 sebulan!

Baca kisah beliau:

Beliau berumur 17thn tapi pendapatan $70 ribu($ yer bukan RM) sebulan.
Beliau bernama Ashley Qualls yang menjana pendapatan $70,000 setiap
bulan daripada Internet. Tengok ini bukti sekali lagi bahawa Internet
memang boleh buat duit!


Beliau membina laman web yang menyediakan myspace layout untuk
digunakan oleh para remaja yang ingin myspace profile mereka kelihatan
cantik. Income utama beliau adalah daripada Google AdSense dan mendapat
cek pertama bernilai $2,790! Seterusnya beliau juga menolak tawaran
beberapa pihak yang ingin membeli website mereka dengan harga $1.5 million!

Nampaknya beliau kini merupakan jutawan dalam umur belasan tahun.
Baiklah namun kita perlu ingat dalam mengejar dunia kita perlu melihat
orang yang bawah pada kita namun jika kita mengejarkan ibadat kita
perlu lihat orang yang jauh lebih alim daripada kita. Sebagai orang
Islam kita perlu yakin yang dunia ini hanya sementara dan hanyalah
sekadar persinggahan.

Hehe nampaknya saya perlu bekerja keras lagi dan biarlah
sekurang-kurangnya mampu memperoleh RM70k sebulan nanti!

Anda juga boleh menjadi seperti beliau.. dapatkan ebook ini:
http://tipadsense.com dan mulalah menjana pendapatan melalui
program Google AdSense.

Sekian,
Zhafran,
Bahagian Pemasaran Team FlareBiz.
http://flarebiz.com
http://MajalahIM.com

Kisah Budak Belasan Tahun Berjaya dalam AdSense (Bahagian 1)

Assalamualaikum dan salam sejahtera,

Baiklah saya ingin berkongsi 2 buah cerita kejayaan remaja belasan
tahun dalam program Google AdSense.Memandangkan anda adalah pembaca
Majalah IM...anda mungkin tahu apa itu Google AdSense bukan?

Baiklah di bawah ialah kisah 1:

seorang remaja dari India yang sama umur dan sama pendapatan dengan
saya ho ho ho!. Beliau bernama Thilak Raj Ra daripada India dan
merupakan seorang blogger yang berjaya. Beliau mendapat pendapatan
$3000 sebulan daripada Google AdSense, tempahan iklan dan sebagainya.

Beliau mendapata pendapatan pertama beliau pada 7 November 2006
sebanyak $287 daripada Google AdSense. Pada Mac pula pendapatan
beliau ialah $3204! Pendapatan $3000 di India adalah satu pendapatan
yang cukup tinggi kerana engineer yang bekerja untuk IT company di
sana hanya mendapat pendapatan averange $600 - $800 sebulan!

Formula yang beliau guna dalam kehidupan ialah "Patience + Passion
= Lots of Money". Beliau menjadi seorang blogger yang berjaya setelah
7 bulan blogging secara konsisten. Blog beliau ialah tech-buzz.net dan
anda tentu boleh belajar sesuatu daripada blog beliau tersebut.

Saya pernah berbalas emel dengan beliau dan beliau juga seorang yang
bagus melayan karenah pelawat blog beliau kerana saya banyak tanyakan
beliau pelbagai soalan. Hehe saya berharap post kali ini juga dapat
menaikkan semangat anda untuk terus membuat duit melalui Internet.

Anda juga boleh menjadi seperti beliau! Anda boleh beli ebook ini:
http://tipadsense.com dan cuba untuk menjadi seperti beliau!

Tunggu kisah seorang lagi remaja lain di emel berikutnya...

sekian,

Zhafran,
Team FlareBiz.com
http://tipadsense.com
http://flarebiz.com